i-mobile i693 Android Smartphone Review and Giveaway

 

I mobile i693 5

LiewCF Tech Blog has received I-mobile i693 Android smartphone for review and give it away to blog reader after this review!

What’s in the box?

<

p>I mobile i693 1

For your information, I-mobile is a brand originated from Thailand. Their products includes feature phones to budget Android smartphones and tablets.

I-mobile i693 is considered their higher-end model. The retail price was RM638 but now you can get it for RM468 or lower at hypermarket and authorized dealer. It comes with removable battery, USB cable, charger, headset, and user manual.

Specs

I-mobile i693 does not have high-end specs. It is powered by 600 Mhz processor, running Android 2.2 Froyo operating system. The 3.2 inch TFT touch screen display support 480×800 resolution and 262k HVGA colours. 5.0 MP camera without flash. No secondary camera. Support MicroSD memory card (not included) up to 16GB.

Design

I mobile i693 2

There are 2 colors available, grey and white. The one I received is white. At first glance, I was attracted by its sexy white, shiny and curved body. It’s only 13.4 mm thick. At closer look, its plastic body is not to my liking.

I mobile i693 sides

On the left-side of the phone, there’s lock button and volume control buttons. One the right-side, you get 3.5mm jack, MicroSD memory card slot, mini USB port, and a dedicated camera shutter button.

I mobile i693 6

Under the 3.2 inch touch screen display, you have 4 menu buttons (back, menu, home, search) and mic. The menu buttons are small and slim, a bit hard to press. For a couple times, I keep touching on the menu logo with backlight and thought they are touch-sensitive buttons.

I mobile i693 2

The 5.0 MP camera and loudspeaker are located at the back of i-mobile i693. The camera has no flash.

Widgets

Immediately after start up, there’s a “ComBar” on home screen which looks like Thailand entertainment related widget (Thai language) and few other business related widgets that doesn’t seem to work in Malaysia (oil price, gold price, weather).

Apps

I mobile i693 7

There’s only few default apps which includes social apps like facebook, foursquare and fring.

My two cents

I-mobile i693 is quite responsive but with little delay when scrolling screen. No problem playing 2D games like the famous Angry Birds. By the way, the speaker is loud and clear!

Not sure whether it is hardware problem or app bugs, I encountered few system errors while reviewing.

I didn’t test the 5 MP camera because I-mobile i693’s camera refuse to work without a microSD card and I don’t have it.

To summarize, I-mobile i693 has a beautiful body and o.k. hardware. The 5MP camera is more advance than other Android smartphones with 2MP camera in the same price range.

Visit I-mobile website for more information. Remember to check out their promotions, too!

How to win?

Simply follow the instruction below to win this i-mobile i693 smartphone. Winner will be selected randomly. The more entries you got, the higher chance you will win.

[Update (Jan 9): Giveaway contest has ended. The winner is…]

Editor’s note: I would like to thank i-mobile for giving the i-mobile i693. Interested in sponsoring? I’d love to hear from you. Get in touch with me.

 

Connect with LiewCF

Enter your email address to receive free updates. Find LiewCF on Twitter, Facebook, and Google+

, , ,

45 Responses to i-mobile i693 Android Smartphone Review and Giveaway

  1. Hammer December 26, 2011 at 10:59 am #

     Just what i always wanted… Just kidding.. Good luck to everyone who entered, including myself.

  2. GiantNeko December 27, 2011 at 7:40 am #

    What are the must-have Android apps? Of course twitter is a must  XD

  3. Badiuz December 27, 2011 at 10:13 am #

    twitter and fb

  4. Ltgan62 December 27, 2011 at 10:40 am #

    FB and Twitter

  5. Kelly Chin Sunshine December 27, 2011 at 10:54 am #

    twitter, whatsapp, fb

  6. Leyhioon December 27, 2011 at 11:23 am #

    twitter and facebook

  7. Muhammad Harris Ismail December 27, 2011 at 11:29 am #

    facebook

  8. Jeffersonwsw December 27, 2011 at 11:40 am #

    facebook

  9. Orange saw December 27, 2011 at 11:50 am #

    facebook

  10. Easter Yeoh December 27, 2011 at 12:04 pm #

    facebook, twitter, foursquare

  11. Stacey Gilbert December 27, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

    I’m not gonna join the contest but I’d like to give a little comment about this post. Anyway, the iMobile’s appearance doesn’t disappoint. Looks great enough to be a great smartphone – but then again, what’s new?

  12. wmv player December 27, 2011 at 4:51 pm #

    oh, i love the design! It’s simple and tasteful, and it’s so thin, and it’s white ohh, so girly, i want one of these :)
    i think i know what my future phone is gonna be like :)

  13. Song Jun Chua December 27, 2011 at 7:45 pm #

    Merry belated Christmas!!

  14. najwa kesuma December 27, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

    FB and Twitter

  15. Fahmein December 27, 2011 at 11:15 pm #

    FB and Twitter

  16. Amusek18 December 27, 2011 at 11:37 pm #

    FB and Twitter

  17. Robin December 28, 2011 at 12:20 am #

    twitter, facebook and whatsapp

  18. Zurina December 28, 2011 at 12:27 am #

    Facebook and Twitter

  19. Siau Liang Chan December 28, 2011 at 12:36 pm #

    Must have apps? Whatsapp. :D

  20. AhTim December 30, 2011 at 6:27 pm #

    Must have Android Apps: Gesture Seach,Swype,Whatsapp,Viber,Google Star Map!

  21. AhTim December 30, 2011 at 6:27 pm #

    Btw,the PunchTab is FUN! ;)

  22. emily December 31, 2011 at 2:34 pm #

    facebook and twitter

  23. Jared_tay December 31, 2011 at 6:40 pm #

    whatsapp

  24. Spsaw6 December 31, 2011 at 6:43 pm #

    whatsapp

  25. zulseffort December 31, 2011 at 8:14 pm #

    Mine: Expense Manager , Twitter, Plus Toll Rate , Calendar , To Do list, iQuran , Internet 

    • LiewCF January 2, 2012 at 2:00 pm #

      At last, a different list of apps ;)

  26. Munir January 1, 2012 at 2:46 pm #

    Facebook,Twitter,Foursquare,Instagram,messenger

  27. Rebirth Jason January 1, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

    Facebook

  28. Marissa January 1, 2012 at 3:21 pm #

    Facebook

  29. Marissa Bieber January 1, 2012 at 3:27 pm #

    Whatsapp 

  30. Spsaw6 January 1, 2012 at 7:50 pm #

    whatsapp

  31. Dkhtay January 1, 2012 at 9:10 pm #

    whatsapp

  32. hwee hoon January 1, 2012 at 9:25 pm #

    facebook and twitter

  33. jason January 1, 2012 at 9:38 pm #

    whatsapp

  34. moses January 1, 2012 at 9:57 pm #

    whatsapp

  35. Houngging January 1, 2012 at 10:09 pm #

    whatsapp

  36. Nuraziawati January 2, 2012 at 11:32 am #

    whatsapp

  37. Nicholas Chan January 4, 2012 at 5:52 pm #

    Here’s my list of MUST-HAVE:
    -WhatsApp
    -Facebook
    -Twitter/TweetDeck
    -Line
    -Viber
    -Skype
    -mytubo
    -Foursquare
    -Evernote
    -Cinema Showtimes
    -Google Sky Map
    -Google+
    -Talkbox
    -Tumblr
    -Tango
    -DX BatteryBooster
    -AirPush Detector
    -Astro
    -Google Currents
    -Foodspotting
    -Maybank2u/CIMB Clicks
    -Angry Bird Series
    -Tetris

  38. Felicia @ No Deposit Poker January 5, 2012 at 12:29 pm #

    Good luck to everyone who participated! It really is a
    great-looking android smartphone. It’s the first time I’ve heard of I mobile
    i693. Thanks for sharing!

  39. Cutebun January 7, 2012 at 12:56 am #

    Tweetdeck, whatsapp, facebook, camera 360

  40. Lee cynthia January 7, 2012 at 1:22 am #

    -ThinkFree Office
    -whatsapp
    -Tweetdeck
    :D

  41. joshuatly January 7, 2012 at 4:42 am #

    Must have android app for me is:

    BeyondPod (for listening to podcast and audiobook)Why plug in into computer to sync for podcasts every day when your phone is capable of downloading and managing your podcast for you?And also use with presto plugin to enable listening speed. I usually play my podcasts at 1.5x speed. Oh, not to forget it play video podcasts well to!

  42. Shahrim194 January 7, 2012 at 7:02 am #

    Tweetdeck, whatsapp, facebook,Viber

  43. Sherry Chang January 9, 2012 at 9:34 am #

    Winners is who?

    • LiewCF January 9, 2012 at 12:29 pm #

      here is the winner http://www.liewcf.com/i-mobile-i693-review-7752/

Add a comment